Print
RSSFacebook

Go To Search
Click to Home

Violations
Juveniles

The municipal court has jurisdiction over juveniles (16 years or younger) charged with Class C misdemeanor offenses. All juveniles are required to appear in open court for all proceedings in their cases. The parent or legal guardian of any juvenile charged in municipal court is REQUIRED to be present in the court with his or her child. Juveniles who fail to appear in court may have an additional charge of failure to appear filed against them. Juveniles who fail to appear or who fail to pay their fine will be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety who will suspend their driver’s license. If they do not have a driver’s license, they will not be able to obtain one until they appear in Court.

Juvenile is defined as someone under the age of 17.


Alcohol Violations – Minors

Any person between the ages of 17-20 years and charged with an alcoholic offense (purchase, attempt to purchase, possession, consumption, misrepresentation of age, public intoxication by minor) is REQUIRED to come before the Judge.

The following penalties shall be imposed, however, if it is a first offense, an offer of deferred disposition may be granted. It is judicial discretion.

This section provided by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission and the Texas Department of Transportation.

First Offense

  • Class C misdemeanor: $0.00-$500.00 fine
  • Alcohol Awareness Course
  • 8-12 hours community service
  • 30 days driver’s license suspension or denial

Second Offense

  • Class C misdemeanor: $0.00- $500.00 fine
  • Possible Alcohol Awareness Course
  • 20-40 hours community service
  • 90 day driver’s license suspension or denial

Third Offense (under 17 yrs of age)

  • 180 days driver’s license suspension or denial
  • Juvenile court- child in need of supervision; or
  • Criminal court- adjudicated as an adult

Third Offense (17 yrs of age or older)

  • Class B misdemeanor: $250.00- $2,000.00 fine and/or
  • Confinement in jail up to 180 days
  • 180 days driver’s license suspension or denial
  • Possible Alcohol Awareness Course